• Categories

  • June 2009
    M T W T F S S
        Jul »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Archives

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Pages

  • Meta

Blueberry Cream Cheese Pie

IMG_3948This pie was beckoning to me from the freezer.  No it wasn’t a frozen pie, but I had some frozen blueberries from this past season and I really needed to use them.  Good excuse to make a pie I think!None of the blueberry pie recipes I found appealed to me, so I mixed and matched until I came up with my own version.  I also used a homemade crust from some pre-packaged  coconut cookies I had stashed away.  Hope you like it too!

 

 

Blueberry Cream Cheese Pie

  • 8 oz. cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream, whipped
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 3 cups fresh or frozen blueberries

 

Cookie Crumb Crust

  • 1 1/2 cups cookie crumbs (I used coconut cookies )
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 6 TB. butter or margarine, melted
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, optional

In a small bowl, beat the cream cheese and powdered sugar until smooth.  Fold in the whipped cream.  Spread on bottom of pie crust. 

Measure out the water and lemon juice, stir in cornstarch til dissolved.  Pour this mixture in a medium saucepan with blueberries and sugar.  Bring to a boil over medium heat.  Cook and stir for a few minutes, or until thickened.  Cool!  Spread cooled mixture over cream cheese layer.  Refrigerate for at least a couple of hours before serving.

IMG_3957

 *To make the cookie crumb crust:

Mix all ingreients together in a glass deep dish pie plate.  (Less to clean up is always a plus!)  Press into bottom and up the sides of pie plate and bake in a preheated 375 degree oven for 8-10 minutes.  Cool.

Leave a Reply

