• Categories

  • June 2009
    M T W T F S S
        Jul »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Archives

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Pages

  • Meta

Those Summer Veggies Are Here!

IMG_4032Oh summer!  Here we go again.  I love summer, don’t get me wrong.  During the winter months I dream of what my garden is going to become in the spring.  Perfect rows of my favorite vegatables, dark rich soil, and no weeds within site. 

Well get real.  Thankfully my vegatables have over come the grass and weeds attempt to invade.  I’ve only stepped in one fire ant mound so far.  And this southern red clay is a force to reckon with!  All in all though, I think my bounty will be pretty nice.  The squash and zuccini are really showing out.  I planted beets for the firsttime and they are doing pretty good also.  Next problem is what to do with all those beets!  A person can consume only so many pickled beets you know.  I did make a nice squash casserole today for lunch. IMG_4037 It was a small one being that I am the only one in the family who will eat it.  The rest of the clan likes things that are frozen and come in cardboard packaging.  That’s okay, more for me I guess.

Leave a Reply

