• Categories

  • June 2009
    M T W T F S S
        Jul »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Archives

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Pages

  • Meta

Coconut Chocolates

IMG_4089

 

Coconut Chocolates

Ever has a bag of desiccated coconut laying around?  Well I have.  I bought it from a local cake supply store a little while ago thinking I really needed it.  I didn’t need it, no more than 95% of the other things I purchase on a whim!  But now that I did, I needed to find a “real” purpose for it.

Now let me back track a minute.  I think I heard someone say, “what kind of coconut!?”  Well, I said desiccated coconut.  It’s basically dried out coconut.  It contains only about 3% moisture when dried properly and this process makes for an extended shelf life. 

Getting back to my end result though, I thought there is no better companion for coconut than, what else, CHOCOLATE!  So this is what I did:

  • 1 bag chocolate chips
  • 1 cup desiccated coconut
  • 1 tbsp. shortening
  • a handful of pecan halves

I melted the chips along with the shortening in a glass bowl in the microwave in 30 second intervals.  I stirred in the coconut til well combined.  I spooned this mixture into candy molds, placed pecan halves on top and refrigerated until set!

Yes folks, that’s it.  Sorry it wasn’t some spectacular, grulling recipe that takes half the day, but maybe tomorrow! 😉

Leave a Reply

